Gear: Seven HipstaPak & iOS7 app update

Bonus gear alert!

Seven HipstaPak packages

To coincide with the release of Apple’s new operating system iOS7 today, Hipstamatic have surprised users with the Seven HipstaPak, which includes two new cases and three new flashes for the standard 69p price.

The catch is that it’s only available to download once you’ve updated your iPhone. I just started the download about an hour ago and at the rate it’s going, I’ll be lucky if it’s finished by the morning. So no screenshots from me for the time being I’m afraid!

It’s also reported that there may be issues with the Pak showing up even for people running iOS7 so keep checking and be patient with Hipstamatic – it’ll be working in no time fingers crossed!

The last time a flash was included in a Pak was the Pop Rox flash in the Groupie SnapPak last March (I think), so it’s a surprise to see any new ones.  They’re colour pop flashes, so along with the Laser Lemon, Cadet Blue and RedEye gels, there’s now Leprechaun Tears, Purple Raindrops and Juicy Orange to add a tint of colour to your photos.

I never really use any of the colour gels so it’ll be interesting to see how I get on with these – once I manage to get iOS7 working. I’ll post up a few test shots over the next couple of days.

Apple’s new software update introduces distinctly flat design to the iPhone, as opposed to the skeuomorphic (where iPhone elements mimicked real-world objects) design of previous user interfaces.

The new cases in the Seven HipstaPak are created with this shift in style in mind – they are also flat to “match the look and feel of iOS7”, and come in black and white.

The Hipstamatic 270 update brings a new user interface to the app as well.

On a final note, apologies for the lack of update recently – I started my new job in London a couple of weeks ago and have been finding it difficult to fit blogging into such long days. Must try harder.

Let me know your thoughts on the new gear and update, and I’m happy to share your best snaps with the new flashes too if you like!

 

About Tim Heap

Recent multimedia journalism grad with a passion for iPhoneography typography & design, urban vinyl & shameless pop.

Leave a comment